This folder contains a collection of facts about the town of Rosenberg, Texas, including information like location, history, climate, growth and development.
This folder contains biographical information about a series of men who immigrated to Texas to serve as soldiers, priests, etc., as well as a discussion of the missionaries sent out into what would become Texas to explore the territory and...
This folder contains documents related to the city of Orange, Texas. Included in the contents is a history of the city and information about local industry, government, clubs, schools, and points of interest.
This folder contains documents related to the history of Orange, Texas. A narrative history, outline of history, and a list of city points of interest are included.
This folder contains the reminiscences of Mrs. Dilue Rose Harris about her life moving to and growing up in Texas in the late 1830s. She describes living in Harrisburg, the Battle of San Jacinto, and some of the first elections in Texas. It is...
This is a first person narrative of the travels of Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca while exploring North America. The narrative begins after they pass the mouth of the Mississippi River.
This is an excerpt from a 1927 issue of The Oil Weekly which provides a history of petroleum-related developments in Harris County's Pierce Junction Salt Dome.
Three drafts of a description of the history and business of House Plantation, a plantation owned by Arcola Sugar Mills Company. Sources include Bill Griffin, who lived on the plantation for 61 years and W. L. Howse, a former manager of the Arcola...
Handwritten manuscript of the diary kept by John E. T. Milsaps from April 11, 1899 to June 29, 1899. Contains hand drawn map of Santiago Citadel, Old Manila.
Samuels, Vic;
School integration -- Texas -- Houston -- History;
Houston Independent School District -- History;
Citizens for Good Schools (Houston);
Oral histories
Vic Samuels talks with David Goldstein about his participation in the school integration movement in Houston in the 1960s.
"These three volumes tell the story of a courtship that began between two people who
had never seen each other, and lasted for fifty-six years. Most people know this couple as Rev. William and Mrs. Audrey Hoffman Lawson. Audrey wrote to William on...
Streit, Yvonne -- Interviews;
People with disabilites -- Rehabilitation;
Brookshire (Tex.)
Yvonne Streit, a native Houstonian, graduated in Education from SMU and started teaching. Born from the despair of her deeply disabled daughter, she relied on her faith-driven resolve to assist the disabled adults and young children. She used a...