Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



Creator

Date

Format

Relation-Is Format Of

Subject

You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: guide
(333 results)



Display: 20

    • Streit, Yvonne

    • Streit, Yvonne -- Interviews; People with disabilites -- Rehabilitation; Brookshire (Tex.)
    • Yvonne Streit, a native Houstonian, graduated in Education from SMU and started teaching. Born from the despair of her deeply disabled daughter, she relied on her faith-driven resolve to assist the disabled adults and young children. She used a...
    • Houston Oral History Project: a great city voices its past.
    • Houston city directory for 1873

    • Houston City Directories
    • Subtitle: Directory of names, places, business, etc. for the city of Houston.
    • Houston City Directories
    • Samuels, Vic

    • Samuels, Vic; School integration -- Texas -- Houston -- History; Houston Independent School District -- History; Citizens for Good Schools (Houston); Oral histories
    • Vic Samuels talks with David Goldstein about his participation in the school integration movement in Houston in the 1960s.
    • Houston Oral History Project : a great city voices its past.
    • Milsaps Diary, volume 7, April to June, 1899

    •  
    • Handwritten manuscript of the diary kept by John E. T. Milsaps from April 11, 1899 to June 29, 1899. Contains hand drawn map of Santiago Citadel, Old Manila.
    • MSS0033 John E.T. Milsaps Collection, 1531-1986
    • Campos, Tony

    • Campos, Tony--Interviews ;
      Mexican Americans--Interviews ;
      Baytown (Tex.) ;
      Segregation in education--Texas ;
      League of United Latin American Citizens ;
      Parachute troops ;
      Oral histories
    • Tony Campos was born in Baytown in 1923. Twenty-two days after graduating from high school he was drafted to serve in World War II with the 82nd Airborne Division as a paratrooper. He discusses growing up in Baytown and the segregation faced by the...
    • HMRC Oral History Collection
    • House Plantation

    • Maresh files
    • Three drafts of a description of the history and business of House Plantation, a plantation owned by Arcola Sugar Mills Company. Sources include Bill Griffin, who lived on the plantation for 61 years and W. L. Howse, a former manager of the Arcola...
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Oil Weekly 1927

    • Maresh files
    • This is an excerpt from a 1927 issue of The Oil Weekly which provides a history of petroleum-related developments in Harris County's Pierce Junction Salt Dome.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Our Public Schools

    • Maresh files
    • This is a research bulletin on the history of public schools in Houston, Texas.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Original Narratives of Early American History

    • Maresh files
    • This is a first person narrative of the travels of Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca while exploring North America. The narrative begins after they pass the mouth of the Mississippi River.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • About the Julia Ideson Building

    • Guide
    • This guide to the Julia Ideson Building provides information on the facade, grounds, and interiors of the building. It also includes a timeline of early Houston Public Library history and a short biography of Julia Ideson.
    •  
    • Library Ghost Story

    • Guide
    • This guide tells the story of Jacob Frank Cramer, the Julia Ideson Building's former caretaker and resident ghost.
    •  
    • Quarterly of the Texas State Historical Association, Volume 4

    • San Jacinto, Battle of, Tex., 1836 ; Texas--History--Revolution, 1835-1836 ; Memoirs ; Harrisburg(Tex.)--History ; Harris, Dilue Rose--1825-1914
    • This folder contains the reminiscences of Mrs. Dilue Rose Harris about her life moving to and growing up in Texas in the late 1830s. She describes living in Harrisburg, the Battle of San Jacinto, and some of the first elections in Texas. It is...
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Orange County Material No. II

    •  
    • This folder contains documents related to the history of Orange, Texas. A narrative history, outline of history, and a list of city points of interest are included.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Orange County Material No. III

    •  
    • This folder contains documents related to the city of Orange, Texas. Included in the contents is a history of the city and information about local industry, government, clubs, schools, and points of interest.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Quarterly of the Texas State Historical Association, Volume 5

    • Soldiers--Biography ; Missions--Texas ; Missionaries--Texas--Biography
    • This folder contains biographical information about a series of men who immigrated to Texas to serve as soldiers, priests, etc., as well as a discussion of the missionaries sent out into what would become Texas to explore the territory and...
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Rosenberg

    • Rosenberg (Tex.) ; Rosenberg (Tex.)--History
    • This folder contains a collection of facts about the town of Rosenberg, Texas, including information like location, history, climate, growth and development.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470
    • Pioneer Women in Texas

    • Maresh files
    • This document discusses the textile arts of pioneer women in Texas. It also describes some of the homes built in the pioneer period.
    • Houston Metropolitan Research Center Maresh WPA Files, MSS1470

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK